The Taqwacores

I know this blog is hackerinjapan, however, I want to share this trailer with you.  It is related to Japan, in that a my friend from The American School in Japan, ASIJ, is in the film.  I think I met Volkan Eryaman when I was ten or eleven years old.  We were both living in Tokyo at the time, having our run of the entire city.  An amazing life, which I can’t begin to articulate here today.  Maybe over time.

The film is about the emergence of a Muslim-Punk scene.  As interested as I am in this, it is very difficult to find any reputable source on the scene.  Boston group, The Kominas lends the beats to the trailer.

Volkan plays The Skinhead, who I believe is shirtless in every scene here.  I still remember going to Kura-kuen amusement park in sixth grade, when a ride got stuck upside-down.  If I’m not mistaken, Volkan screamed and cried for us to be free.  I naturally laughed and proceeded to get stuck upside-down in full tilt, SEGA Afterburner arcade game. The game, which featured a five-point seatbelt, allowed the rider to turn 360deg upside-down.  Naturally, I screamed and cried out, cursing a country that would allow a child to control a ride so vicious, and for only 500 yen.  

About TCK Hacker

Born in the USA, I lived in Tokyo, Japan and Singapore growing up. Since then it's been back and forth kind of lifestyle.. PA --> MA --> JP --> MA --> JP --> PA --> GA --> PA --> NC --> GA (currently in Atlanta, GA, USA) I want to reach out to fellow TCKs. I hope to be a resource in the Expat and TCK communities. Holla.
This entry was posted in Adult Third Culture Kid, ATCK, Music, TAQWACORE, TCK, Third Culture Kid, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment