Afterthoughts / Pre-Vacation Update / Ideas to build on — More in the weeks to come!

It’s been a long time since my last post!  I’ve been inspired to write again, since I feel a sort of shift occurring.  In one week, I’ll be packing up all of my possessions, to hit the States for an extended vacation.  While the trip is mostly to see family and friends, a high level of inner exploration is expected.  And so in preparation, I need to reflect on where my heads been since March 11.  Here’s an assortment of themes that I’ll build upon in the following weeks.  I’m always lazy about updating, since I’m a perfectionist and like presenting only succinct and well planned observations  Cheers to breaking the habit.

It’s easy to complain when living abroad.  While everyone has their own unique reasons for making a move, we also have our own expectations.  When expectations are not met, your host country, in my case Japan, can become an easy target.  People are too shy, too cold, too short.  Public transportation too expensive, airports too far away, and the sushi just too damn tempting!  The list will go on for hours, should you try.  The same goes for foreigners living in the States, I’m sure.  Actually, I probably have the same complaints…too direct, too self-involved, too fat… But today, I was asked to voice my opinions and reasons for moving to Tokyo.  And when it comes down to it, my life could be far worse.

Since arriving back to Japan for Round III, I’ve directed much of my energy inwards.  A sort of self-exploration.  While this may sound funny to some, to me, Japan has been one of the biggest influences in my entire young life.  Yes, the people can be shy, and my God do they ever work longs hours.  In fact, the Japanese take the lowest amount of vacation time out of any nationality.  And now that they’ve fallen behind China as #2, I don’t think that’ll be changing anytime soon.  More on Economics later.  For today, let’s focus on the good.

Japan is safe, and not just in general terms.  Having lived here as a child, this will always be part of my core, my inner being.  That will never change.  My devotion to this island nation has only been strengthened since the devastating events of March 11.  No, I never felt the urge to leave.  I understand why others did.  But how would you feel about leaving the house you grew up in?  Could you simply walk away from that in a weeks notice?  I can’t even imagine.  But being ill-prepared carries no excuses.  I was physically ready to leave, had things gotten worse.  And when my office building, and most of Tokyo was shut down early because of fears from Fukushima, I turned off my computer, took to the unusually dark Shibuya streets, and walked back to my old home of Shoto.  Imagining what would happen if Tokyo was in fact, in danger, I stood there and prayed.  I wasn’t ready to leave, but that entire walk I began to accept that there may be no other option.  Remember, at this point, there was still tsunami waters flooding the lowlands and reactors.  Foreign media was exploiting the story with their fear-mongering reporting, locals governments hadn’t a clue what was happening, and we were all still busy learning lots of new vocabulary relating to radiation, earthquakes and emergency efforts.  This was a time of unknown.  So on that night, I had to accept, truly accept what was out of my control.  That week was a turning point, as well defined as getting off a plane or getting fired from a job.  It reminded me that I do have a home here, and that even though family and friends are far away, I will always have Japan.  Earthquakes aside, life here is comfortable.  Too bad comfortable usually equals stagnant in my mind…

I love having measurable goals, and with a move they’re easily defined.  My adventures in Japan get their own facebook album for photos, new jobs increase your skills and abilities, and  daily use of Nihonglish (Japanese / English mix) provides endless fun while making new friends.  In a world where most measure the quality of life with things and money, the life of a traveler can simply be measured in the heart.  All of these new experiences build to your character, they redefine a stronger, better version of “you” and I’m completely addicted to it.  I’ve kept a very mobile lifestyle.  I can, and have, moved zip codes, states, and even countries with a weeks notice.  It’s what drives me to grow and learn, that clear marker for progress.  In a weeks time, I’ll be leaving Tokyo on vacation, unsure of what’s exactly to come.  Oddly that never makes me nervous.  It means I get to learn something new.  I’ll be writing more soon, so do come back for updates.

About TCK Hacker

Born in the USA, I lived in Tokyo, Japan and Singapore growing up. Since then it's been back and forth kind of lifestyle.. PA --> MA --> JP --> MA --> JP --> PA --> GA --> PA --> NC --> GA (currently in Atlanta, GA, USA) I want to reach out to fellow TCKs. I hope to be a resource in the Expat and TCK communities. Holla.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment