A return to Martha’s Vineyard

Old House Pond, just around the corner from Lambert's Cove Inn.

Old House Pond, just around the corner from Lambert’s Cove Inn.

Today I was awake by 4am. It’s now just after 6am and I’ve already had a walk, taken twenty or so pictures and talked with some goats. I’m on the island of Martha’s Vineyard, in Massachusetts, USA and this is one of my homes.

Goats, chickens, roosters – most of them friendly :)

Goats, chickens, roosters – most of them friendly 🙂

I know you’ve heard me talk and write about Japan before and hell, this blog used to be called hackerinjapan, but Martha’s Vineyard has been a place I consistently return to, time after time.

I called ‘The Vineyard’ home for ten summers and one long, interesting winter. It’s the place in America where I feel centered. It is not without its hardships; it’s expensive, remote and detached. But I love it here. I’m inspired here. I’m at home.

Arriving only yesterday by boat, I’ve already run into two friends on the street, had dinner with two more and met a guest of their’s that I indirectly helped out two years ago (who knew me for it). My American Life has more or less revolved around my Island Life and I love that I feel such attachment to a place within my Passport country.

Someone asked me last week if I was ever going to settle down. Today I feel like I actually could.

About TCK Hacker

Born in the USA, I lived in Tokyo, Japan and Singapore growing up. Since then it's been back and forth kind of lifestyle.. PA --> MA --> JP --> MA --> JP --> PA --> GA --> PA --> NC --> GA (currently in Atlanta, GA, USA) I want to reach out to fellow TCKs. I hope to be a resource in the Expat and TCK communities. Holla.
This entry was posted in Adult Third Culture Kid, ATCK, Expat, Exploration, Japan, Martha's Vineyard, Singapore, TCK, Third Culture Kid, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment